The SEXI Board is made up of one representative from each of the (32) member Councils.

The SEXI Board has an Independent Chair. Other Board members include a Federal Government representative, an electrical distributor representative, and the SEXI Group General Manager. The SEXI Board also has some non-voting advisors for specific areas – renewable energy, research etc.

Just as a local Council does, a decision by the SEXI Board authorises the General Manager to undertake works and spend monies.

A final decision regarding the on the location of each of the proposed concentration solar power demonstration plants must be approved by the SEXI Board.